DPF Town Hall Meeting

May 2, 2011

At the Anaheim "April" APS meeting

Attending: about 20 other people besides the executive committee

DPF EC: Patricia McBride, Chip Brock, Pierre Ramond, Alice Bean, Kevin Pitts, David

Saltzberg, Kara Hoffman, Kate Scholberg, Jonathan Feng

Agenda and minutes

1. Chair Report – Patty McBride

She introduced the executive committee and discussed DPF activities over the past year (more below). There is now an online newsletter at http://www.dpfnewsletter.org/

The DPF 2011 meeting will be August 9-13 at Brown University in Providence, Rhode Island: http://www.hep.brown.edu/~DPF2011/

The DPF prize winners for 2011 were congratulated:

J.J. Sakurai Prize for Theoretical Particle Physics: Chris Quigg, Estia Eichten, Kenneth Lane, Ian Hinchliffe

Mitsuyoshi Tanaka Dissertation Award in Experimental Particle Physics:

Stephen Hoover – UCLA

Robert R. Wilson Prize for Achievement in the Physics of Particle Accelerators:

Yaroslav Derbenev - Thomas Jefferson National Accelerator Facility

W.K.H. Panofsky Prize in Experimental Particle Physics

A.J. Stewart Smith, Douglas Bryman, Laurence Littenberg

A new award is coming next year: Dissertation Award in Theoretical Particle Physics

More information on these awards can be found at:

http://www.aps.org/units/dpf/awards/index.cfm

The 2010 DPF APS Fellows were presented certificates and lapel pins:

http://www.aps.org/units/dpf/fellowship/index.cfm

Pushpalatha Bhat, Sean Carroll, Dmitri Denisov, Keith Dienes, Richard Gaitskell, Cecilia Gerber, Carl Hagen, Richard Hughes, Thomas Kephart, Mary Hall Reno, Michael Rijssnbeek, Stephen Schnetzer, Davison Soper, Gregory Sullivan, William Trischuk, Yong-Shi Wu, Rikutaro Yoshida, Cosmas Zachos

2. Treasurer Report – Alice Bean

DPF finances as of the end of Feb, 2011: Total \$172,727.13

Income YTD: \$18,172 Expenses YTD: \$5,656.88

Other expenses to come this year total around \$40K

There was discussion on how much funding was to be given to the DPF 2011 conference and the treasurer was reminded to apply for NSF funding for APS meeting student support.

3. Report from DOE – Glen Crawford

Showed the FY11 budget. There will be no new starts in FY11, including, LBNE, MU2E, and Microboone. Showed the FY12 budget request but suggested funding could be significantly worse than the \$797 Million HEP request. There is \$10M in the budget to help out Homestake. As always there are calls out for new program directors to help the DOE out and all help is appreciated in recruiting people to these positions.

4. Report on DPF Taskforce on Instrumentation – Marcel Demarteau

A slide presentation was given. The people on the taskforce, a history of the issues, and the charge was given. There has been much progress and working groups are active. There are now six tasks and subgroups:

National Instrumentation Board: Blucher, Artuso, Lissauer, Gilchriese, Weerts Targeted resources at the National Labs: all lab reps + White, Mozon, Blucher National Fellowships: Sciolla, Schumm, Bock, MacFarlane

Instrumentation School: Cattai, Para, Sciolla, Bock, MacFarlane

Interdisciplinary: Artuso, White, Gichriese, Weerts

National Prize: Molzon, Lissauer

The TIPP conference in June, 2011 will focus on these issues: http://conferences.fnal.gov/tipp11/program.html

5. Other issues

There were questions about DPF's involvement in Astroparticle, Dark Matter, Dark Energy, Cosmology, etc. Answers were given that the instrumentation conferences have personnel from these areas and also that there has been ongoing discussion with the other groups about sharing meetings. There was also discussion about how to draw more people to the town hall meeting, but no easy ideas were given.