APS Division of Polymer Physics, DPOLY, Business Meeting

Minutes, March 15, 2016, Baltimore, MD

The meeting was called to order by Cheng (Chair) at approximately 5:50 pm.

Today's minutes recorded by Hudson (S/T).

Minutes for the meeting of March 3, 2015 were approved.

Reports

- Cheng discussed the health of the division in terms of steady finances, membership (with industry, international and student representation), strong candidates nominated for division leadership, and a robust meeting program.
- Hudson (S/T) reported the finances. Hyuk Yu noted that the Polymer Prize received support from LG Corp, in addition to the support from Dow Chemical and individual supporters.
- The auditors (Darrin Pochan and Chinedum Osuji) reported that they had inspected DPOLY's financial records and found them to be in order.
- Cheng announced election results. Burghardt will become Chair; Kumar will become Chair-Elect; Pochan was elected Vice-Chair; Loo was elected Member-at-Large; and Cheng will become Past-Chair. Crosby and Guenza were thanked for standing for election. Retiring members Frischknecht and Balsara were thanked for their service to the Executive Committee.
- Frischknecht reported that approximately 90 new members signed up during the first two days. Membership at the end of 2015 was 1456, which is 2.74% of the 53,096 total APS membership. Membership was up slightly this year. Membership percentage was down slightly.
- Perahia reported about 2016 March Meeting program organization. The program committee and the team of sorters organized approximately 800 abstracts (~10% of the APS total). Aspects of the program were noted, such as a symposium to honor and remember Sir Sam Edwards, Industry Day and Wiley (publisher of Journal of Polymer Science, Polymer Physics) sponsored awards for posters.
- Gomez solicited input for the 2016 meeting. Please contact him at egomez9@gmail.com.
- Kumar reported that the Short Course on Polymer Nanocomposites had 55 participants. Group work was part of the course and Wiley sponsored prizes for the winning group. Everyone expressed thanks to the organizers Akcora, Composto and Hule, and for the support of ExxonMobil.
- Pochan discussed suggested topics for the next Short Course. Please contact him at pochan@udel.edu, to volunteer or give suggestions.
- Burghardt presented fellowship certificates to Jeff Chen, Alfred Crosby, Liliane Leger, Kalman Migler, Elie Raphael, Charles Michael Roland, and Rachel Segalman.

Cheng recognized Anna Balazs as winner of the 2016 Polymer Physics Prize.

Cheng recognized Thomas Epps III as winner of the 2016 John H. Dillon Medal.

Cheng solicited nominations for the UK PPG DPOLY lecture exchange, due 12/31/16.

Burghardt introduced the finalists for the Padden Award, and announced Dylan Kipp as this year's winner.

Cheng noted the following nomination deadlines this year:

- June 1: APS fellows
- July 1: Polymer Physics Prize and John H. Dillon Medal
- November 11: Frank J. Padden Jr. Award

- December 31: UKPPG/DPOLY lecture exchange

Councilor Ediger reported the following three things of note: the APS Medal is a new award this year, Physical Review Fluids is a new journal this year, and DPOLY represents GSOFT on the APS Council of Representives.

New Business

Upcoming March Meetings: New Orleans, LA, March 13-17, 2017; Los Angeles, CA, March 5-9, 2018; and Boston, MA, March 5-9, 2019.

Sindee Simon announced the Polymer Physics Gordon Research Conference and Seminar, July 23-29, 2016.

Concerning DPOLY efforts, Cheng noted that international and industrial engagement require long term efforts. He also raised the question whether we should supplement the program booklet with other electronic means.

Expressions of Gratitude

Burghardt thanked Cheng for excellent leadership and service and presented him with a certificate of appreciation. The membership expressed its gratitude in applause.

The meeting was adjourned at approximately 6:50 pm.